Preview: Women’s Worlds Road Race 2012

RR Loop

There’s no getting away from it, The Netherlands is very flat. The only exception to this statement being a strip of land sandwiched between Belgium and Germany known as Limburg which will host the World Road Championships for the 5th time in Septmeber 2012. The women’s route is comprises of 8 laps of a 16.1km anti-clockwise circuit.

The circuit is defined by two significant climbs. The first at around 7km in the circuit being Bemelerberg Hill, a 900m, winding, steady climb averaging 5% gradient and peaking at 7%.

The second significant climb begins in the 13km of the course, the infamous Cauberg. The first 350 metres sees the gradient gradually increase from 2 to 6%, then the climbing gets serious! A steep S-bend rises out of the town, reaching 9% for a 100 metre stretch just when your legs feel like they can’t take anymore the  next 200 metres continues to rise at a 12% before the final 500m levels out to a deceptive false flat. One ascent of the Cauberg is unlikely to cause too many issues for the riders but by the 8th and final climb it will really take its toll on the riders.

The Teams:

For the Elite Women’s road race the top 5 ranked nations: Netherlands, Germany, United States, Italy and Great Britain will each have 7 starters. The next 10 nations – Australia, Sweden, Russia, Canada, Belgium, France, New Zealand, South Africa, Brazil and Belarus will have 6, and 5 riders per team for the folloing 5 nations. Any other nations will is entitled to a team of 3 riders.

To supplement the above, additional places are available for athetes who won Olympic, World or Continental championships. This rule means that Netherlands, Italy, Belgium, Cuba, Chinese Tapei, South Africa, and Australia get an extra rider each, in the for Marianne Vos, Giorgia Bronzini, Evelyn Arys, Yumari Gonzalez, Mei Yu Hsiao, Ashleigh Moolman and Gracie Elvin.

Previous Podiums:
Year Gold Silver Bronze
2011  Giorgia Bronzini (ITA)  Marianne Vos (NED)  Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (GER)
2010  Giorgia Bronzini (ITA)  Marianne Vos (NED)  Emma Johansson (SWE)
2009  Tatiana Guderzo (ITA)  Marianne Vos (NED)  Noemi Cantele (ITA)
2008  Nicole Cooke (GBR)  Marianne Vos (NED)  Judith Arndt (GER)
2007  Marta Bastianelli (ITA)  Marianne Vos (NED)  Giorgia Bronzini (ITA)
2006  Marianne Vos (NED)  Trixi Worrack (GER)  Nicole Cooke (GBR)
2005  Regina Schleicher (GER)  Nicole Cooke (GBR)  Oenone Wood (AUS)
2004  Judith Arndt (GER)  Tatiana Guderzo (ITA)  Anita Valen (NOR)
2003  Susanne Ljungskog (SWE)  Mirjam Melchers (NED)  Nicole Cooke (GBR)
2002  Susanne Ljungskog (SWE)  Nicole Brandli (SUI)  Joane Somarriba (ESP)
2001  Rasa Polikevic(iu-te. (LTU)  Edita Puc(inskaite. (LTU)  Jeannie Longo (FRA)
2000  Zinaida Stahurskaia (BLR)  Chantal Beltman (NED)  Madaleine Lindberg (SWE)
1999  Edita Puc(inskaite. (LTU)  Anna Wilson (AUS)  Diana Žiliu-te. (LTU)
1998  Diana Žiliu-te. (LTU)  Leontien van Moorsel (NED)  Hanka Kupfernagel (GER)
1997  Alessandra Cappellotto (ITA)  Liz Tadich (AUS)  Catherine Marsal (FRA)
1996  Barbara Heeb (SUI)  Rasa Polikevic(iu-te. (LTU)  Linda Jackson (CAN)
1995  Jeannie Longo (FRA)  Catherine Marsal (FRA)  Edita Puc(inskaite. (LTU)
1994  Monica Valvik (NOR)  Patsy Maergerman (BEL)  Jeanne Golay (USA)
1993  Leontien van Moorsel (NED)  Jeannie Longo (FRA)  Laura Charameda (USA)
1992 No race No race No race
1991  Leontien van Moorsel (NED)  Inga Thompson (USA)  Alison Sydor (CAN)
1990  Catherine Marsal (FRA)  Ruthie Matthes (USA)  Louisa Seghezzi (ITA)
1989  Jeannie Longo (FRA)  Catherine Marsal (FRA)  Maria Canins (ITA)
1988 No race No race No race
1987  Jeannie Longo (FRA)  Heleen Hage (NED)  Connie Meyer (NED)
1986  Jeannie Longo (FRA)  Janelle Parks (USA)  Alla Jakovleva (URS)
1985  Jeannie Longo (FRA)  Maria Canins (ITA)  Sandra Schumacher (FRG)
1984 No race No race No race
1983  Marianne Berglund (SWE)  Rebecca Twigg (USA)  Maria Canins (ITA)
1982  Mandy Jones (GBR)  Maria Canins (ITA)  Gerda Sierens (BEL)
1981  Ute Enzenauer (FRG)  Jeannie Longo (FRA)  Connie Carpenter (USA)
1980  Beth Heiden (USA)  Trude Jahre (SUI)  Mandy Jones (GBR)
1979  Petra de Bruijn (NED)  Jen De Smet (BEL)  Beate Habetz (FRG)
1978  Beate Habetz (FRG)  Keetie van Oosten-Hage (NED)  Eva Lorenzo (ITA)
1977  Josiane Bost (FRA)  Connie Carpenter (USA)  Minnie Brinkhof (NED)
1976  Keetie van Oosten-Hage (NED)  Laura Bissoli (ITA)  Yvonne Reynders (BEL)
1975  Tineke Fopma (NED)  Geneviève Gambillon (FRA)  Keetie van Oosten-Hage (NED)
1974  Geneviève Gambillon (FRA)  Bayba Tsaune (URS)  Keetie van Oosten-Hage (NED)
1973  Nicole Vandenbroeck (BEL)  Keetie van Oosten-Hage (NED)  Valentina Rebrovskala (URS)
1972  Geneviève Gambillon (FRA)  Lyubov Zadorojnala (URS)  Anna Konkina (URS)
1971  Anna Konkina (URS)  Morena Tartagni (ITA)  Keetie van Oosten-Hage (NED)
1970  Anna Konkina (URS)  Morena Tartagni (ITA)  Raisa Obodovskaia (URS)
1969  Audrey McElmury (USA)  Bernadette Swinnerton (GBR)  Nina Trofimova (URS)
1968  Keetie van Oosten-Hage (NED)  Baybe Tsaune (URS)  Morena Tartagni (ITA)
1967  Beryl Burton (GBR)  Lyubov Zadorojnala (URS)  Anna Konkina (URS)
1966  Yvonne Reynders (BEL)  Keetie van Oosten-Hage (NED)  Aino Pourenen (URS)
1965  Elisabeth Eicholz (GDR)  Yvonne Reynders (BEL)  Aino Pourenen (URS)
1964  Emma Sonka (URS)  Galina Yudina (URS)  Rosa Sels (BEL)
1963  Yvonne Reynders (BEL)  Rosa Sels (BEL)  Aino Pourenen (URS)
1962  Marie-Rose Gaillard (BEL)  Yvonne Reynders (BEL)  Marie-Therese Naessens (BEL)
1961  Yvonne Reynders (BEL)  Beryl Burton (GBR)  Elsy Jacobs (LUX)
1960  Beryl Burton (GBR)  Rosa Sels (BEL)  Elisabeth Kleinhaus (GDR)
1959  Yvonne Reynders (BEL)  Aino Pouronen (URS)  Vera Gorbatcheva (URS)
1958  Elsy Jacobs (LUX)  Tamara Novikova (URS)  Mariya Loukchina (URS)

There are 2 comments

Add yours

Join the conversation..