Novilon Euregio Cup has been a stalwart of the racing calendar since 1998. Running every year with the exception of 2001 where the foot and mouth disease outbreak prevented the race from taking place. The 141km route is centred around the town of Coevorden in north-east Netherlands, on the Dutch-German border. In fact the race is the UCI road race calendar’s first (albeit unofficial) foray into Germany of the year.

The route takes the format common with many in the region of out and back-out and back-loop then finish. There’s no other word for the profile: It’s FLAT! Looking at it you’d wonder how the race could finish in anything other than a bunch sprint but that’s not often the case. Last year, Marianne Vos went off up the road chasing down the lone break rider, Marta Bastianelli. The only rider to stay with her was Lizzie Armitstead. To Marta’s credit she stayed with the chasing pair when caught and went on to finish second. Just a few seconds behind Vos, whilst Lizzie lost considerable time in the closing kilometres to finish third.

The route

Novilon Euro Cup Profile

The only climb of any significance comes early in the race with the short sharp climb of VAM(berg), the former rubbish dump which features heavily in Ronde van Drenthe the previous day. After that there are no discernible climbs for the remainder of the race. That’s not to say the route is akin to the wide flat roads that you could land a Jumbo jet on raced earlier in the season in Qatar. It’ll be a damn sight colder for one, but the route is littered with tight turns, road furniture and just when you think the road can’t get any narrower there’s a turn onto a bike path. Not too much trouble if you’re riding alone but with a start list pushing 200 it makes for an exhausting 140km.

Previous Winners

Year 1st 2nd 3rd
1998 Viola Paulitz-Müller Vanja Vonckx Arenda Grimberg
1999 Leontien van Moorsel Mirjam Melchers Catherine Marsal
2000 Madeleine Lindberg Marielle van Scheppingen-Romme Ceris Gillfillan
2000 No Race No Race No Race
2002 Leontien van Moorsel Chantal Beltman Tanja Hennes
2003 Mirjam Melchers Ghita Beltman Rachel Heal
2004 Sissy van Alebeek Kirsten Wild Sharon van Essen
2005 Suzanne De Goede Linda Villumsen Judith Arndt
2006 Loes Markerink Trixi Worrack Kirsten Wild
2007 Giorgia Bronzini Marianne Vos Ina Teutenberg
2008 Kristin Armstrong Regina Bruins Kirsten Wild
2009 Marianne Vos Trixi Worrack Emma Johansson
2010 Annemiek van Vleuten Ina Teutenberg Kirsten Wild
2011 Suzanne de Goede Marlen Joehrend Natalie van Gogh
2012 Marianne Vos Marta Bastinanelli Elizabeth Armitstead